Saturday, August 28, 2010

Diplomats of Solid Sound Plenty Nasty

This album from Iowa City s ambassadors of funk and soul, The Diplomats Of Solid Sound features for the first time, The Diplomettes. Having already cut 3 full-length albums, "Instrumental Action Soul" (Prescription Records - 2001), "Let´s Cool One"(Estrus Records - 2003) and "Destination Get Down!" (Estrus Records - 2005), you can hear the band growing stronger in sophistication and depth as they further ingested the sounds of 60s soul, R&B and deep funk. Cut to 2006 and The Diplomats became backing band to RnB/Soul legend Andre Williams & recorded "Aphrodisiac" with ´Mr. Rhythm´ released in 2006 on both Pravda and Spanish label Vampisoul. That same year they asked 3 gifted soul sirens (Sarah Cram, Katherine Ruestow & Abigail Sawyer) aka the Diplomettes to join the group and the rest as they say is soul history. This self-titled album is chock full of irresistible funk and soul bombs ready to melt your heart or make you shake it on the dance-floor. As an added bonus, Lack Of Afro put in a bit of overtime in the studio to sprinkle his magic on "Hurt Me So", giving it a skankin' reggae feel while retaining the silky smooth vocals.

01. Plenty Nasty (3:50)
02. Come In My Kitchen (3:23)
03. Hurt Me So (3:37)
04. Budget Fro (3:29)
05. Trouble Me (2:13)
06. Soul Connection (2:33)
07. Smokey Places (3:16)
08. Lights Out! (3:57)
09. B-A-B-Y (2:58)
10. If You're Wrong... (I Don't Want To Be Right) (3:11)
11. Hurt Me So (Lack Of Afro Remix) (3:50)


No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails