Monday, February 13, 2012

Va - Singapore A Go-Go

A superb collection of Singaporean 60’s beat, pop, and “off-beat cha-cha” instrumental classics from original vinyl 45’s. These 22 supercharged beat-a-go-go tracks defy a common held belief that the Chinese couldn’t rock, groove, or swing back in the 1960’s. The vocals are sung in the dialects of Mandarin and Hokkien and they soar with catchy hooks atop groovy, clever beats. There’s plenty of electric guitar, organ, and crazy percussion rocking and twisting behind it all, at times reaching quite a mad and freaky state of affairs. The record’s finale “Happy Lunar New Year” sung by Linda Yong may be the weirdest New Year greeting ever recorded. Every single cut is a winner and it never lets up from start to finish. Although most of the lyrics focus on love, innocence, and festive atmospherics, there’s an epic vibe to the music that rivals other extremely well-recorded and unique pop styles emanating from the surrounding Southeast Asian scenes during the late 1960’s. Seminal bands of the period like The Stylers and The Silvertones are well represented here backing up a wide array of popular vocalists with Charlie Electric Guitar Band’s Sound of Japan ripping it up on four brilliant instrumental tracks.

1. Each And Every Flower
2. Tall Mountain Green
3. Good Luck In The New Year
4. Carnation
5. Love Is Like Dew And Flowers
6. Luna, Luna
7. Mimi Cat
8. Tough Time Missing You
9. Congrats, Congrats (New Year Song)
10. (Funny, Funny) Why Do I Fall In Love With You?
11. Si Li Li Li Li Our Hearts Beat As One
12. You Are A Heartless Person (Main Theme From You, Me, Her)
13. Diamond
14. Secretly Love You
15. Riding A Trishaw Around Chinatown
16. Why Are You Not Smiling?
17. Spring Wind Kisses My Face
18. I Hate My Unrequited Love For You
19. Where Is The Lady?
20. Mountain Lady
21. Oh No! [From You, Me, Her]
22. Happy Lunar New Year


Pavlov's Woody - They Came from Beneath the Surf

Pavlov's Woody - They Came from Beneath the Surf

Always in their own space, Pavlov's Woody have done it again. They Came From Beneath The Surf is a very enjoyable surf CD that's well suited for traveling (plays nicely in the car), and for focused listening as well. Excellent arranging, superb use of piano, and great playing all around.

01. Temptation on the Bounty (3:59)
02. Riviera (2:27)
03. Green Peppers (2:24)
04. Sunset Strip (3:00)
05. Scavengers (3:30)
06. Jerk Chicken Dance (2:56)
07. Tropical Fever (3:00)
08. Firehead and the Soul Brother (3:14)
09. San Luis (2:58)
10. Led Sled (3:42)
11. Harmony Park (3:04)
12. Pavlov's Lincoln (2:15)
13. Because They're Young (1:54)


The Bobby Fuller Four - I Fought the Law + KRLA King Of The Wheels

The Bobby Fuller Four was a popular mid-60s American rock & roll band started by Bobby Fuller. With its first incarnation formed in 1962 in El Paso, Texas, the group has went on to produce some of its most memorable hits under Mustang Records in Hollywood, California. The band's most successful songs include "Let Her Dance", "I Fought the Law", and "Love's Made a Fool of You". This CD reissue combines two first albums on 1 CD with a seven bonus tracks - "Souped up cal-tex Rock 'n' Roll from one of the 60's most original & under-rated groups".

“ says
Del-Fi combined the Bobby Fuller Four's first two albums, KRLA King of the Wheels and I Fought the Law, on a single disc. Producer Bob Keane and disc jockeys from KRLA in Los Angeles helped conceive the idea for KRLA King of the Wheels. The KRLA Top Eliminator was a customized dragster made for promotion, and the Bobby Fuller Four provided this 11-song album. The title track is a reworking of "King of the Beach," and an earlier record from the band's days in El Paso, TX. There are three other car songs, a killer version of Buddy Holly's "Love's Made a Fool of You," and two non-original songs that Bobby Fuller hated, "I'm a Lucky Guy" and "The Magic Touch." Meanwhile, the title track of I Fought the Law was an international smash for the group and certainly their most recognized and popular single. Fuller's idol was Buddy Holly, and former Cricket Sonny Curtis wrote the song that first came out on the Crickets 1962 album In Style with the Crickets. "Let Her Dance" was also a hit and is included. Chip Taylor wrote "Julie," a Hollyesque pounder of infectious proportion. Ten of the 12 songs are Bobby Fuller Four original compositions. "Only When I Dream" could have been written for the Everly Brothers, while "A New Shade of Blue" and "Fool of Love" are more moderate ballads that contrast to the upbeat and infectiously danceable quality of the remaining songs. More consistent than KRLA King of the Wheels, it is a masterpiece from the mid-'60s and the best album released in Fuller's lifetime. ”


01. Thunder Reef [Bonus Track]
02. Wolfman [Bonus Track]
03. She's My Girl
04. King Of The Wheels
05. The Lonely Dragster
06. The Phantom Dragster
07. KRLA Top Eliminator
08. Let Her Dance
09. Julie
10. A New Shade Of Blue
11. Only When I Dream
12. You Kiss Me
13. Little Annie Lou
14. I Fought The Law
15. Another Sad And Lonely Night
16. Saturday Night
17. Take My Word
18. Fool Of Love
19. Never To Be Forgotten
20. Love's Made A Fool Of You [Bonus Track]
21. Don't Ever Let Me Know [Bonus Track]
22. My True Love [Bonus Track]
23. The Magic Touch [Bonus Track]
24. I'm A Lucky Guy [Bonus Track]

If you want to program your player so you can hear the two original Bobby Fuller Four albums - this is how:
KRLA King Of The Wheels: 19, 15, 3, 17, 18, 8, 4, 5, 13, 6, 16, 7.
I Fought The Law: 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19.

Related Posts with Thumbnails