Monday, February 13, 2012

The Bobby Fuller Four - I Fought the Law + KRLA King Of The Wheels

The Bobby Fuller Four was a popular mid-60s American rock & roll band started by Bobby Fuller. With its first incarnation formed in 1962 in El Paso, Texas, the group has went on to produce some of its most memorable hits under Mustang Records in Hollywood, California. The band's most successful songs include "Let Her Dance", "I Fought the Law", and "Love's Made a Fool of You". This CD reissue combines two first albums on 1 CD with a seven bonus tracks - "Souped up cal-tex Rock 'n' Roll from one of the 60's most original & under-rated groups".

“ says
Del-Fi combined the Bobby Fuller Four's first two albums, KRLA King of the Wheels and I Fought the Law, on a single disc. Producer Bob Keane and disc jockeys from KRLA in Los Angeles helped conceive the idea for KRLA King of the Wheels. The KRLA Top Eliminator was a customized dragster made for promotion, and the Bobby Fuller Four provided this 11-song album. The title track is a reworking of "King of the Beach," and an earlier record from the band's days in El Paso, TX. There are three other car songs, a killer version of Buddy Holly's "Love's Made a Fool of You," and two non-original songs that Bobby Fuller hated, "I'm a Lucky Guy" and "The Magic Touch." Meanwhile, the title track of I Fought the Law was an international smash for the group and certainly their most recognized and popular single. Fuller's idol was Buddy Holly, and former Cricket Sonny Curtis wrote the song that first came out on the Crickets 1962 album In Style with the Crickets. "Let Her Dance" was also a hit and is included. Chip Taylor wrote "Julie," a Hollyesque pounder of infectious proportion. Ten of the 12 songs are Bobby Fuller Four original compositions. "Only When I Dream" could have been written for the Everly Brothers, while "A New Shade of Blue" and "Fool of Love" are more moderate ballads that contrast to the upbeat and infectiously danceable quality of the remaining songs. More consistent than KRLA King of the Wheels, it is a masterpiece from the mid-'60s and the best album released in Fuller's lifetime. ”


01. Thunder Reef [Bonus Track]
02. Wolfman [Bonus Track]
03. She's My Girl
04. King Of The Wheels
05. The Lonely Dragster
06. The Phantom Dragster
07. KRLA Top Eliminator
08. Let Her Dance
09. Julie
10. A New Shade Of Blue
11. Only When I Dream
12. You Kiss Me
13. Little Annie Lou
14. I Fought The Law
15. Another Sad And Lonely Night
16. Saturday Night
17. Take My Word
18. Fool Of Love
19. Never To Be Forgotten
20. Love's Made A Fool Of You [Bonus Track]
21. Don't Ever Let Me Know [Bonus Track]
22. My True Love [Bonus Track]
23. The Magic Touch [Bonus Track]
24. I'm A Lucky Guy [Bonus Track]

If you want to program your player so you can hear the two original Bobby Fuller Four albums - this is how:
KRLA King Of The Wheels: 19, 15, 3, 17, 18, 8, 4, 5, 13, 6, 16, 7.
I Fought The Law: 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19.


1 comment:

Edfray said...

The Mediafire link no longer works. How about a new link, please?

Related Posts with Thumbnails