Saturday, October 9, 2010

Big Dave & The Ultrasonics ST

I have gotten quite jaded over the last few years listening to knock-off Chicago Blues clones, both white and black. It seems you can't swing a dead cat without hitting a band trying to replicate the sound created in Chicago during the 1950's. Granted, it was great music, but it gets a bit tiring after a while, listening to one sound-alike band after another.

Big Dave and the Ultrasonics starts there in a marginal way then goes out to create an original identity of it's own. This band really rocks. There's not a weak member in the bunch and they all shine equally on this album. The arrangements are as tight as can be and they have plenty of room for superb jamming and instrumental prowess. The harmonica, keyboard, drums and bass are all outstanding with a jump blues focus rather than the guitar dominated Chitown sound. good choice for blues hounds who want something on the more sophisticated side.

01. She's The King
02. Jump Street
03. Black Coffee
04. She Can't Keep A Secret
05. A Month Of Sundays
06. Back In The Hot Seat
07. I Hear Your Voice
08. Everybody Wants A Cadillac
09. Escuchame
10. Phone Fun
11. My Baby's Sweeter
12. Big Bad Blues Train
13. Junkman
14. I Can't Fly
15. Ooh My My



No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails