Saturday, June 12, 2010

Stomu Yamashta's Go Live

2008 reissue of this album from the master percussionist who studied Jazz drumming at Berklee School of Jazz. In the 1970's he recorded a string of innovative albums for Island records which utilized the talents of such leading musicians as Hugh Hopper, Maurice Pert, Steve Winwood, Michael Shrieve and Klaus Schulze, fusing his percussion talents with Jazz, Electronic and Classical music to create an ambient form of music all of his own. His music has been used by the Royal Ballet. The album Go, released in April 1976, was a fine achievement and Yamashta assembled a band featuring collaborators Steve Winwood, Michael Shrieve, Klaus Schulze and Al Di Meola to deliver a series of stunning concerts. The Parisian concert was captured by Island Records and was released as Go! Live From Paris in 1977. Esoteric.

1. Space Song
2. Carnival
3. Windspin
4. Ghostmachine
5. Surfspin
6. Time Is Here
7. Winner/Loser
8. Solitude
9. Nature
10. Air Voice
11. Crossing the Line
12. Man of Leo
13. Stellar
14. Space Requiem

Related Posts with Thumbnails