Sunday, June 12, 2016

John Ford - No Talkin'

John Ford, UK, guitarist in a number of bands over the years - Strawbs, Blackmore's Night, Hudson Ford plus.

This album is 100% instrumental, with many tracks hinting to the sound of the UK 60's instrumental bands.

 The album’s cover is telling as every string plucked here belongs to a Fender, the only implicit thing about the record being the homage it pays to THE SHADOWS. This becomes obvious once the muscular chord of “The Reaper” starts hugging its gently rippling strum. Ringing in the years, its echo takes Ford down the memory lane, as no matter how long John’s been living on the other side of the Pond, the reminiscences he puts in “Granny Takes A Trip” still bear an imprint of foggy-eyed English psychedelia and “Tomorrow’s World” contrasts its futuristic self with an air of nostalgia, while out of the title cut the same axe carves a prime example of surf rock. The veteran also introduces exotic flavors to the mix, although the acoustic undercurrent makes the retro-jazz of “Looking For Django” and Mariachi-shaped “Spanish Jive” sound so cinematic they come out deliberately humorous.

But if the delicately swinging “36-34-36” provides a skeletal rock bottom to it all, “Dead Ending” grooves wildly – it’s so infectious, no words are needed, indeed. Music does all the talkin’ here, and this conversation that lasts less than half an hour speaks volumes of its creator’s singular talent.

Some great foot/finger tapping tunes & some beautiful melodies - if you have headphones on, I challenge you to listen to the track titled Joyce's Song and not succumb to the urge to stop what you're doing, sit back, close your eyes & dream of clouds.

Highly recommended.

 Track List:

01. The Reaper [02:50]
02. Spanish Jive [02:20]
03. No Talkin' [02:41]
04. Tomorrow's World [03:31]
05. Granny Takes a Trip [03:16]
06. Looking for Django [02:27]
07. Joyce's Song [03:15]
08. 36-24-36 [02:19]
09. Lost Horizon [02:41]
10. Dead Ending [02:31]

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails